Day 5


Last night after my post, my face basically broke out into a red rash and it looked pretty bad. I’m pretty sure this is my bodies reaction to the anibiotic keflex. I take my last pill tomorrow morning so I am hoping it’ll go away soon. It’s not as bad as before, but I always took pride in my skin and taking care of it, so it’s kind of hard for me to accept having less than pretty skin. Oh well. No one ever said this was going to be a pretty process. I keep looking at my nose and how much it is turned up. My old nose was a little droopy, especially when I would smile. It’s so weird because you can see my top lip now. I was telling my boyfriend how I wanted lip injections because my schnoz was always in the way of seeing it and now you can see it and I absolutely love it! I am such a little girl!

I am still eating a ton of pudding and jello. I am also trying to drink more water and less juice now. I came home this morning along with my grandma. I really missed my dogs and my family. My papa brought me In n Out and mmmmm it was soo good! I haven’t had any meat since Monday (it’s Saturday now) and I enjoyed it very much. I haven’t been sleeping as well at night time and haven’t been having a dry mouth as much. My lips feel weird, though. Like somewhere in between swollen and chapped. Weird combo, I know. My mom said that I still have swelling in my face around my mouth, so I guess it has dropped from my eyes, to my cheek, and now around my mouth. Hopefully it’ll go away in a day or two. My bruising is yellowish now, but I still have that one red mark beneath my right eye. I haven’t worn any make up, yet because I still have this cast on. I feel like my cast isn’t on as tight as it was. I don’t know if I am imagining it, or if maybe my face is a little bit less swollen now? I know my nostrils are smaller and that is where the cast seems more loose, so I think it is from that. Oh, random thing that happened, I’m pretty sure I keep softly hitting my nose in my sleep because it’s all itchy. I can’t wait for this to be over. I feel very antsy today. At least I can breathe a little better out of my nose. I can’t wait to finally blow it! I feel like I’m so stuffy, it sucks! Anyway, pictures!

Go away, bruises!

I look like a chubby monkey lol.

Bella decided she wanted to be a part of my picture.

My dogs have been so gentle and super protective of me since I've been home. ❤

  1. jessica
    08/01/2011 at 6:10 pm

    hi. i was wundering how old u r? because im a 14 year old girl and im absolutely terrifyed about my surgery this friday. ive read alot about it and everyone says its absolutely painful and that even after two weeks its still swollen an my school starts in 2 weeks and 4 days after surgery and im going into highschool so i want to look my best. so idk im scared. i love to hear back from you! thanksss!

  2. 08/06/2011 at 4:06 pm

    Hi Jessica, I just turned 25. I had my surgery when I was 24, though. I know I’m a little late responding and I am sorry! I hope your surgery went well. No, you won’t be in any pain! Just uncomfortable. It’ll hurt if you touch your nose, though so be gentle! You will need a LOT more than just 2 weeks to recover! It takes a year to fully recover. It depends on how much work you’ve had done. I had a lot of bone shaved down, so I was swollen for a long time and I also had allergies during recovery which also did not help me. Stay out of the sun and stay cool. Make sure you wear sunblock on your face every time that you go out. Wear hats in the sun if you go out. You will be fine! Good luck with recovery!

  3. gwen
    09/03/2011 at 3:39 pm

    hi how long was it till the swelling and bruising went, so you could go out in public without being looked at????? enjoyed reading your blog wish i had a supportive family like yours x

    • 09/08/2011 at 1:38 am

      Hi Gwen. You should be able to go out in public a week or so after surgery without being looked at. I had lots of swelling for about three to four weeks, though that made me really uncomfortable. I have a friend who went to the same surgeon and she looked AMAZING as soon as her bandages were off with minimal swelling. So everyone is different. However both of our bruisings were gone around a week after the day of surgery. It shouldn’t last very long, but make up can minimize anything that makes you feel uncomfortable when you go out. Your family will support you, don’t worry! They are probably just concerned about you looking different after surgery and they love you as you are. It is expected. My family didn’t want me to do it, either but my parents are so pleased with the results that they can’t help but be supportive now. Yours will be, too. Just pick a good doctor. Preferably one that specializes in nose jobs!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

