Day 11


I had another post-op appointment today and had the tape removed off of my nose. My boyfriend drove me again. I really don’t want to drive anywhere that I don’t have to because there is so much traffic in LA and people drive rather carelessly, so I am afraid of getting into an accident and hurting my nose. My boyfriend is an absolutely gentleman and doesn’t complain about taking me. I think he enjoys coming with me and being a part of this whole process. I’m very appreciative of him. My entire family has been really good to me and been supportive and no longer smoke in my presence. And of course my Auntie was my own personal nurse and took such great care of me. I am very thankful for everything everyone has done for me. I’ll never forget it.

Okay so, having the tape removed was half as bad as having the cast removed. Again it stuck to my skin like velcro! My face had broken into a rash from the medicine and it had made it very rough and more dry than it already is to begin with. I believe this is why it stuck to me so bad. I was pleasantly surprised with how much less swelling there was today. I mean it’s still pretty bad, but much better than last time. I still see a big difference in my nostril size and my bridge is healing differently on both side. My nose was very crooked before and and the bridge was uneven, so I think this, too, is a part of the healing process. It doesn’t look that bad, though and people won’t notice. I do, though because it’s me. Note that on the right side of my bridge, you will see how swollen one part is. Dr. Lee told me that my nose is still about 50% swollen so there is more change ahead of me to see! I’m extremely happy with the tip of my nose and my side profile thus far! It’s so gorgeous! And I love that it’s a little bit turned up. I think it is very feminine and it just really complements my face. It fits and completes it. Picture time!

See where the swelling mostly is? I'm excited to see it go away and see how it will look!

Fat nose! It's cute, though. I look like a beastly little piggy! lol

I love this angle! I can't believe how cute my nose is from here!

More nostril action! Note the different sizes. I will keep a watch on how much this changes as well.

  1. Eliana Estrada
    10/15/2011 at 7:51 pm

    OMG, I love the look of your nose. I just had the same procedure done 5 days ago and my nose is so huge….I’m so worried it will stay this way and not get any skinnier. It’s such a long progress. I return to work in about 7 more days…it’ll be about 2 weeks after my rhinoplasty and I’m scared to still look like a Avatar, lol! I think it’s also slower due to thicker skin. Any suggestions on helping it to shrink faster? Thanks for all the info and progress pics. You look great…hope mine starts looking something similar soon =(

    • 10/16/2011 at 1:18 pm

      Hi Eliana,
      Congrats on your new nose! My advice to a quicker recovery is to STAY OUT OF THE SUN! And stay out of the heat! Put cold compresses on your face and around your nose. It is too soon for you to ice your nose, so ice your forehead and your cheeks! Thicker skin does make it look bigger than it is. I was told that it can take up to one year for the skin to contract around the bridge. It is a long process, so hold tight. I am a slow healer, so hopefully you will look much better than I did when I was at 2-3 weeks. I totally looked like an Avatar character, too! It made me not want to leave my house, but you can’t let it get you down. It is only temporary, and soon enough you will look beautiful! I hope you have a fast recovery! Enjoy your new nose!!

  2. Eliana
    10/17/2011 at 1:07 pm

    Thanks for your response. I’m hanging in there….Yeah I also don’t feel like leaving my house but I keep repeating to myself….”It will get better” =)

    • 10/18/2011 at 1:10 am

      You’re welcome. And it WILL get better. You just had your surgery! Take pictures once a week and compare them. You will see differences, I promise!

  3. jamie
    02/04/2013 at 9:06 pm

    I just had a nose job January 23rd. And my nostrils are uneven . And I’m pretti scared they won’t go back to normal. I know one side is more swollen but cud it reli Make that big of a difference? yours looks normal now. I just hope mine heals like yours did. And everyone keeps pointing out how crooked it is. And its reli discouraging. If yiu have any tips or tricks or words of inspiration that wud b great! Your blog has already given me a sense of relief. Thank you!

    • 02/05/2013 at 1:41 am

      Hi Jamie,
      Congratulations on your new nose! Everyone is always swollen after surgery, so don’t feel discouraged. I had uneven nostrils for a couple of months, and actually, I have uneven nostrils naturally. Most people do. Did you have an acquiline nose prior to surgery? I never noticed that I had uneven nostrils because my nose was not turned up. After my surgery it became apparent that they weren’t even and more so because I had uneven swelling. Did you have an open or closed rhinoplasty? We’re your nostrils touched during surgery? I would see your ps if it doesn’t begin to even out within a couple of months. Don’t be afraid to call and ask for him/her to look at your nose.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

