Day 9 Cast Removal Day!


Day nine was a really exciting day for me since I got my cast removed! My boyfriend came with me for this occasion because one, I did not want to be alone just in case I didn’t like what I saw, and two, he wanted to be a part of it and see my nose. The office nurse applied some nice smelling oil with a Q-Tip to the tape beneath my cast to begin removing it. Let me tell you, it was VERY uncomfortable getting it removed! I have very dry skin and so the tape stuck to my skin like velcro. And my bridge was so tender and sore that every time she ran the Q-Tip over my bridge to lift the tape, I squeezed my own hand. It was not fun. But I won’t say that it hurt really bad because it didn’t. It just wasn’t pleasant. My profile looked really cute, but my bridge was SO wide and I had a little bit of a hump from the swelling. It was a little scary seeing myself with such a wide nose because my real nose was so narrow. My boyfriend liked it even though it looked funky. It’s totally normal, though so if this happens to you, don’t freak! It takes months and months, up to a year, for all of the swelling to go down. I’m not worried at all because I know I have a long road ahead of me and that I just need to trust my doctor because she knows best. Besides looking a little bit beastly and having a lot of swelling, I was still excited. I noticed that my nostrils are different sizes and that my left side septum sticks outs, but I am fairly certain that it is due to the stitches and my nose is healing at the different rates on each side. Dr. Lee decided to tape down my nose for a couple of more days to help decrease the swelling. Here are some pictures.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

