Home > Rhinoplasty, Rhinoplasty recovery, Septoplasty > Week 5 + Epic Photo Update!

Week 5 + Epic Photo Update!


Week five has probably been the best week so far. I still keep teetering back and forth with being happy and being unhappy. I still see a bump, that apparently no one else does, so I’m hoping that I am crazy. Oh well one other person noticed it so I guess I’m not totally crazy. Dr. Lee says it’ll still drop. I like it overall, but that little bump and my non-contracted skin bothers me. But I am loving the upturn of my nose!

I hate how swollen my nose still is and with the weather getting warmer, Β it’s not really helping. I still keep sneezing a ton and I can’t completely avoid being under the sun so I feel like nature is working against me. My nostrils are pretty different now that I look at them. I guess that’s how God made me! But I also think that the right side of my nose is just more swollen that the left. I keep icing for an hour a day, but it’s kind of been an inconvenience because I have to be studying for finals and doing other things, too. I guess this is the price that I have to pay because this is what I wanted. Here are some pictures from this week. I think that there is less swelling this week than last week, so that’s good! These pictures are in order from oldest to most recent. I took a TON of pictures this week. I don’t think I will ever have an update like this again.


I'm sure some will look at me and think that my nose is not swollen at all, but this is seriously more than twice as wide as my old nose, so for me it's still wide.

My little bump! It's totally visible here!

This was taken in the morning. Please excuse my haggard appearance! My nose is usually swollen the most when I first wake up.

Nostrils!

Whewwwwww that was a LOT of pictures!

  1. Susanna Tirpak
    05/14/2011 at 10:51 am

    Helo Aleen! I think that your nose is beutiful, and it will surely get a LOT better later on. I had a little bump on my nose too, although it wasn’t THAT bad I still felt uncomfortable as I work as a part-time fitness model. I always hated my look from the side. I also wanted my nose to be shorter.
    I had a rhinoplasty on May 4th, so it’s all just happening now.. πŸ™‚ It’s been great and very helpful to read your blog, I can finally see what this all looks like for others. I am SOOOO concerned that I will bump my nose into sg I’m kinda obsessed with this!!!
    I couldn’t post a pic of my old/new look, but anyway… 😦
    I can’t wait to read your next updates – it helps me A LOT!! So thank you!!!
    U r beautiful girl, take care of your nose!

    Susanna.

  2. 05/15/2011 at 1:13 am

    Hi Susanna! Thank you for your sweet compliments! I appreciate them. Congratulations on your rhinoplasty! It is a very exciting time for you and I know you can’t wait to see what your nose will look like in the end. Be careful about bumping your nose. Be very careful not to and guard it like it is a baby. But a light tap or a swipe won’t hurt you. Only excess trauma can cause real damage. I just saw some of your pictures and you are beautiful! You are going to look so much better after your surgery! You will love it! Just give it time to heal and don’t make any quick judgments because you will have good days and bad days with how you see your nose. Just remember you have a long way to go before it heals. Good luck!

    Oh and I will try to update once every week or two. The healing slows down after six weeks so I don’t think too much will change in a short period of time afterwards.

  3. Susanna Tirpak
    05/15/2011 at 11:48 am

    Oh, thank YOU , really – I really need someone who’s going through the same ting. This whole “process” of recovery is very scary and doing it all alone on my own is even more difficult. So that’s why I am super-thankful for your blog updates! πŸ™‚ I will later put up pics of my new nose…it looks very good from the side – I love ot, and just like in your case it is still a lot wider from frontal view than it used to be – but I know this will eventually change.
    Let’s keep on updating, and healing!
    You go girl! πŸ™‚

    See ya later! And thank u agai for ur help!

    Susanna.

  4. 05/15/2011 at 5:54 pm

    Excellent! Can’t wait to compare! And that is amazing that you are doing it on your own. I was fortunate to have so many people help me. I’m sure you look great and will only keep looking better!

  5. Susanna Tirpak
    05/16/2011 at 3:54 pm

    Hey! I’m not ALL alone – I just meant that there’s no one there around me who went through rhinoplasty – but my boyfriend is fortunately there for me! He’s more worried than I am! πŸ™‚
    Let’s keep on getting beautiful!

    S.

  6. 05/30/2011 at 12:27 pm

    Ohh okay I see! We are lucky to have boyfriends who care enough to worry more than us! And yes, let’s keep on getting beautiful! πŸ˜€

  7. 05/30/2011 at 12:28 pm

    Oh I just saw your new nose on your gravatar! It is beautiful, I love it! Congratulations and enjoy the new you. πŸ™‚

  8. Andrea
    08/29/2011 at 11:01 am

    Hey i randomly found your website i am AMAZED at your results. i saw the after photos first then your before WOW what a difference you look so cute! I really want to fix my nose although my husband is against it i dont care! i need to do this for myself. im not sure where you are (i’m in California) i would love if you could pass on your docs details i need to talk to someone about doing this surgery

    • 08/31/2011 at 10:07 pm

      Hey Andrea! Yes I’m also in CA. In LA, actually. I went to Dr. Susan Lee Chobanian. She’s fantastic and she is located in Glendale. Google her name and you will find all of her info. Thank you for all of your sweet compliments. I appreciate them! I hope you get the surgery you want. My boyfriend was against this surgery, too and now he LOVES it. He says he doesn’t know why he was so opposed before. He teases my before pictures these days, so have confidence that your husband will LOVE the outcome. And yes, you need to do it for yourself. That’s why I did it. πŸ™‚

  9. yasmin
    09/18/2011 at 11:53 am

    Hi, I love your updates and thank you I had my nose done 11 days ago still swollen too, but my smile is very different could you please share some of your experience I would hate if my smile does’t go back to its original… I do love my nose but I need my mouth and smile back so my question is does it change your smile permanently or will things get better??

    • 09/19/2011 at 1:38 am

      Yes yes yes it will go back to normal in a month or two! I think I wrote about it somewhere in my blog that I had a stiff upper lip and that my smile looked weird. My doctor told me not to smile or laugh very much, though. I think it might cause drooping. I did not ask why, but other people have told me it’ll make it droop. Hope you enjoy your new nose! Remember to be patient with healing. It takes a long time to heal and your nose will keep changing. πŸ™‚

  10. gina
    11/20/2012 at 10:43 am

    Hi. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. My nose looks pretty much the same as yours did before the surgery. IΒ΄m also going to have a nose job in about 2 months. IΒ΄m really excited because iΒ΄ve always hated my nose. I played handball when i was younger and got a lot of trauma on my nose, so its not straight at all.. and with a big bump! not a good combination at all. But i am struggling a bit about whether I’m gonna tell people before my surgery. I dont know anyone who has done this before, nor have i ever heard of anyone other than celebrities. i find it a bit hard to talk about, i guess im afraid that people will judge me. how did you handle this?
    and one more thing, how long after surgery did it take before you went out, like to school, parties, etc. About a month after my surgery I’m going on holiday with some friends..
    By the way, your nose looks beautiful!

    • 11/20/2012 at 10:56 am

      Hi Gina,
      Firstly, what YOU want comes before what anyone else will think or say. For me, almost everyone was very supportive of my decision. There was one girl who I am no longer friends with who made very negative comments to me claiming it is her personal belief that people should not have any cosmetic work, but you know what, I can’t stand when people push their beliefs down others throats so good riddance to her. I went out even with my cast on. I got very swollen after having my bandages removed and I stayed at home out of depression for a couple of weeks, but it isn’t normal to get as swollen as I had gotten. You will be able to go out one week after surgery and be fine so don’t worry, one month is plenty of time. And don’t worry about other people if anyone is negative. It’s not your problem if they are. I think you will find most people to be supportive and I don’t think you should hide it from them. You’re going to need the emotional support. You can always come back here for help if you need anything. Good luck and God bless. πŸ™‚

  11. gina
    11/20/2012 at 11:49 am

    Thank you so much. I guess you are right, i really do need the support right before and after I’ve gone through with it. I would defiantly come back here later, your blog has been a great help when considering plastics surgery. I hope that everything is fine with you now πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

