Week 7


Hi everyone who reads my blog! As I said, the healing really slows down after the sixth week and I wasn’t going to post as much. Well not much has changed except that I think  my nose looks skinnier. I’m still stuffy and still have bloody noses and lots of dried blood. It’s pretty uncomfortable having to deal with this on a daily basis. Sometimes I can taste the blood since our noses and throats are all interconnected. I know this is not a cute topic, but I said I’d be brutally honest about my journey and I want people that read my blog to know what really happens so they do not freak out during their own journeys. Each morning that I wake up, my nose is the most sore and the most swollen and I hate it! I saw Dr. Lee on Wednesday May 25th and she is very pleased with her work. I am, too but I still wish my bridge curved in a little bit more. I told her to do whatever she thought fit my face the best and I do believe that this nose looks great, but I still want something more feminine. I’m not sure if I will ever have a revision because having a nose job is not a fun process and it’s really too early to tell what the end result is going to look like. She said the sides are still swollen and she pushed down on them pretty hard, actually and it hurt, to see how much swelling there still is. I asked her if the bridge would still drop and she said just a little, so I don’t expect that to change much. My nose is still a little soft and squishy, but more firm than my last update. I’ve read that most of the swelling goes away in the first six weeks, but I want my readers to know that I think it’s not exactly an accurate statement. I’ve noticed more swelling subside during this seventh week than the sixth so when you reach your sixth week and you don’t like what you see so far, don’t freak out because everyone heals differently. You will notice more changes in the weeks to follow. This takes time! I keep trying to tell myself that on the days that I feel the most impatient.

Since not much has changed, here are some pictures that I took over the last two weeks. They go in order from oldest to most recent. The most recent ones are from yesterday. If anyone has any comments or any questions, please ask away! I’d love to help anyone. 🙂

Nose is still a bit wide during my 6th-7th week.

Sorry this picture looks funny, but you can see the swelling quite well here.

I look funny here, too but I do like how my nose looks. I like the tip the most.

My right side of my bridge is still "bubbly" looking. See the line that goes down vertically? That's swelling. I'm still waiting for that part to go away.

These are all from this past week. I think more swelling has down that last week. I don't notice my nostrils being too uneven anymore. Yay.

The tip looks a little bit more pointy than before, too. I think it's from the swelling going down.

Hello, nostrils! lol

 

From yesterday. I like it more and more.

Still a bit wide, but much, much better than before.

Tip is a little bit less round, but not too pointy just as I wanted.

Maybe I'm crazy for wanting it more curvy. Looking at pictures, I think it complements my face well.

Most important, I feel happier and more confident! 😀

  1. aaa
    06/13/2011 at 2:11 pm

    i feel good improvent in the nsa ltip

  2. 06/13/2011 at 9:43 pm

    Good to hear!

  3. Steve
    06/28/2011 at 9:57 pm

    Hey, just stumbled upon this after doing some google searches. My surgery is Thursday, so I’m nervous and excited. But yours looks like it went great, and you look BEAUTIFUL! Congrats 🙂

    Have you been able to do any serious cardio or workouts yet? How’d that feel? I’m a swimmer and want to get back into the pool asap. Thanks!

    • 06/29/2011 at 12:18 am

      Thank you for the sweet compliment! I haven’t done any exercising at all since surgery due to my laziness, but you’ll be stuffy for about a month to six weeks after surgery, but you should be able to work out after that. I’m almost at three months and my breathing is better than before. I do worry about injuring my nose and you might feel the same way, but I’m sure you can get back to working out within two months. I believe I was advised to wait six weeks before swimming indoors. You should avoid the sun for six months, though if you are considering swimming outside. Your nose WILL swell. I’m dealing with that now so it is in your best interest to take it easy for at least six months. I know it sounds rough, but trust me it is best for your recovery. Good luck with your surgery! I’m sure you will love it!

  4. natash
    07/18/2011 at 5:27 pm

    you look gorgeous! i just had a rhinoplasty done about 6 weeks ago and your blog has helped me so much. but WHEN are you going to post more pictures? i am so excited to see how you look now!

  5. Ally
    07/20/2011 at 2:20 am

    you look great! would you be able to post more pictures so we can see how it’s changed since the last update? thank you!

  6. 07/20/2011 at 4:34 am

    Yes I will have one posted for you guys by tomorrow!

  7. MoiJusteMoi
    09/08/2011 at 10:05 am

    Great results, congrats, unfortunately mine didn’t go as well as yours : (, at week 7/8 i still feel loooots of squishiness on one side, does the squishiness significantly decrease even after wee 7/8?

    • 09/09/2011 at 11:13 am

      I’m still squishy at five months! Well, not really squishy, but still soft. I’m sure it is possible to be more squishy on one side than the other. Was there more work done on that side? For instance, my right side was more bubbly than the left after surgery. It’s because I had the sharp bump on my right side and my septum cartilage wasn’t straight, and that was the result of it being shaved down and straightened out. Believe it or not, you are still very early in your recovery process. You have a long way to go! You are probably a slow healer like me. Try to be patient. I wasn’t thrilled about my nose throughout this entire process. Look for improvement, not perfection. 🙂

  8. Mindy
    08/04/2013 at 10:30 am

    Your new nose is beautiful! It complements you really well. I just had mine done 2 days ago, I hope my results are just as good.

    • 08/10/2013 at 12:22 am

      Hi Mindy,
      Thank you! Congratulations on your new nose! How are you feeling so far? I hope you love your nose. It was an emotional journey for me, lots of ups and downs. Try to be patient and give your nose lots and lots of time to heal.

  9. Nadia
    10/21/2015 at 7:59 pm

    Hey! First of all, you look absolutely stunning! I’m currently on the search for a surgeon, and I couldn’t help but hope you’d help me, since I have a similar nose to your pre-surgery nose– so, do you think you could do a post about who your surgeon was and the details of consultation, etc.?

    • Nadia
      10/21/2015 at 8:00 pm

      AH! Didn’t see that you already posted that… Sorry!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

