Home > Uncategorized > 6 Month Post Op Doctors Visit

6 Month Post Op Doctors Visit


Just a quick update about my six month post op appointment! Everything is good, but my swelling is a little excessive so I’m probably going to get a steroid shot to help the bridge swelling subside. I’ll be going back after the first of the year. That’s all for now. I’ll update again month by month with pictures just to compare. šŸ™‚

  1. Bari
    12/21/2011 at 4:27 pm

    Aleen,

    I’ve most enjoyed reading about your nose journey. You look fantastic! I had the surgery 5 weeks ago tomorrow…and want to fast forward time for all the swelling to be gone! Anyhow, it was so helpful to read of another’s experience. Happy Holidays!

    • 12/29/2011 at 3:04 am

      Thank you, Bari! I know the feeling of wanting to fast forward! I still want to fast forward! I’m so glad you enjoyed my blog, so far. Make sure you keep icing. Even for me at close to 9 months, it still helps even though I don’t do it very often. You will notice that your nose will also shrink in cold weather, too. I hope you have an easy recovery!

  2. SnoutNose
    12/28/2011 at 6:55 pm

    Hi Aileen,
    You look amazing! Thanks for putting up all the pics so we can see the progression from week to week and month to month. I don’t see the hump you are worried about. I just see a beautifully nose that looks perfect on your face! and you have awesome skin too…do share your skin care secrets:-) Anyways, I just had mine done (it’s revision from a nose surgery I had 13 years ago). I got my cast off yesterday (Dec 27) but am bit worried about the unevenness and the overly turned up nose. I keep hearing this is normal because the tip is extra swollen and within few weeks the tip does loosen and come down a bit. I wanted to see if you had the same experience? Right now it feels like it’s snout – it doesn’t feel like my nose. I also had an open surgery which is supposed to cause much more swelling and takes longer to heal. I’m hoping some of the swelling will have subsided by New Years eve and before I leave for work meetings overseas on Jan 2. I’m so worried that everyone will be able to tell I got a nose job. I haven’t told anyone – so am paranoid that people can tell with the current upturned looks. I wish it would come down a tiny bit quickly! Hope you’re still loving your nose.

    • 12/29/2011 at 3:16 am

      Hello SnoutNose (I bet it’s not really snouty!)
      Well, my recovery is actually nothing like the recovery of my friends who have had nose jobs, and a lot of my friends have had their noses done. I’m Armenian and we tend to have big noses, so a lot of my Armenian female friends have had nose jobs lol. Anyway, my experience was that my nose, from the side, appears more turned up than when I first had my cast removed. I had lots of swelling where she had up-turned it so it looked straight. HOWEVER…everyone else I know has had the opposite happen. One of the girls I know said she cried when she saw her new nose because she thought she looked like a pig, but it did drop over the months and does not look like a pig nose. Another one of my friends said she noticed her tip dropped, too. I have had a really slow and swollen recovery compared to most, but I don’t know how much you can recover during the next two days. People probably won’t notice that your nose is any different, but they’ll probably say that you look different and ask you if you had a haircut or changed your make up or something. If I were you, I would ice my nose and face throughout the day as much as you can without giving yourself frost bite or hurting your skin. Get rest and do not do any heavy lifting or anything to work up a sweat. I hope that you end up with results that you love! As for the bump, I really do see it on my bridge. It doesn’t bother me very much anymore and I’m pretty sure it’s just excess swelling as it appears more aggravated when I do heavy lifting or anything tiring, and also when I have a cold. I am having a corticosteroid shot in January to help it, so I will update after that! And for my skin care…drink lots of water and use Philosophy brand Hope in a Jar with spf. I absolutely love it and am hooked on it. And this is probably not the best advice, but I avoid washing my face too much because I think it takes away from the face’s natural oil that makes your skin glow. Out of the week, I will skip a night time wash maybe once or twice at most. And during the week, I won’t wear any foundation or heavy make up. Anyway I hope I helped. Feel free to contact me. Enjoy your New Years! šŸ™‚

      • SnoutNose
        12/29/2011 at 7:26 pm

        Hi Aileen,
        Thanks so much for the quick response! Armenians are beautiful – which explains your great skin tone! and thanks for the skincare tips – I’ll have to get some Philosophy Hope in a Jar:-) I think the nose is getting less piggy day by day but still needs to come down bit more. I plan on getting my haircut shorter tomorrow to throw off my friends when I see them on New Years eve. The congestion is out of control for me. I think you mentioned you had it too. Did anything help to relieve it and how long did it last for you? My doc said not to use anything but have to call him tomorrow to say this is unbearable. and I sound so nasaly! ugh! But as the saying goes: beauty knows no pain:-)
        Happy New Year to you too!

      • 01/02/2012 at 1:18 am

        Hi SN!
        How was your new years? Did people notice it was your nose or were they totally thrown off by the haircut? I didn’t do a single thing about my congestion out of fear of hurting my nose or ruining my nose job. I had only taken Allegra for my allergies and that helped a lot. I’ve read and seen about people using a NetiPot to help and it seems pretty harmless. It should be okay. I would try it if it is really bad. Ask your doc if you can do it or use Afrin or something. I did things my doctor told me not to do and it was still okay. It didn’t really hurt me or affect the outcome of my nose, I don’t think. I don’t want you to do anything that your doctor is dead set against, though. I became pretty good at breathing through my mouth, though. I won’t lie. I didn’t use anything, but I recall reading that a nasal spray would be okay after bandage removal. I don’t think it is a big deal. Go to http://www.realself.com and read some Q&A’s for rhinoplasty. You can even ask a question and several other plastic surgeons will respond to you! I found that site very helpful when I was looking for answers, and still refer to it whenever I freak out about anything. I hope it helps!

  3. SnoutNose
    01/03/2012 at 10:24 am

    Hi Aileen,
    Happy New Year! Well, some of my friends said I looked different but couldn’t tell what it was. Only once obnoxious acquaintance blurted out “you got a nose job”. She didn’t say it front of whole party, just few people. Needless to say, I was embarrassed. Even if you think someone had cosmetic surgery, the etiquette is not to say anything. But I told a few friends and they said they wouldn’t have knows it was the nose though something looks different. I’m now in London for work and seeing some colleagues that I haven’t seen for a while. I can tell by their perplexed looks that they think something is different. or maybe i’m just paranoid. Nose is still swollen and nostrils bit uneven. Tip is still hard but not as piggy, but still more piggy than I like. I guess it will take few months for it to come down, will have to be patient. When I had my first surgery, no one could tell. maybe that was the problem – it was like the PS barely did anything which is why I went for revision and to improve breathing from collapsed nasal valve. I still feel congested. But that is least of my worries. I just pray that as swelling clams that my nostrils are more even and the tip comes down a tiny bit. I really hope this is not the new permanent look. I really don’t want to go under the knife again:-( Yes, I look at realself all the time. I’m obsessed with that site right now! You been really great help by answering questions – I’m so glad you found you! A big THANK YOU! SN

    • 01/07/2012 at 7:28 pm

      You are so sweet and kind! I’m so glad I get to help people and give them advice and make people feel better! Honestly, I will my nose was a little bit more turned up! I’ll give you some down-turn if you want to give me some up-turn! lol People are so stupid sometimes. This one girl, in the midst of my being the most swollen, avatar-like creature, flat out says, “Your nostrils are uneven.” CLEARLY. So I looked at hers and told her that neither are hers, and she will see it after she gets her nose done, too. She shut up real quick. I don’t think she was trying to be rude, but people don’t know how insecure someone can feel after plastic surgery. You are just hoping and praying that you look better, and you want people to notice, but you also don’t want them to know. It’s kind of a catch 22 if you think about it. But you know my swelling was VERY uneven and it did shrink down and become close to unnoticeable. Yours will, too. Just try to be patient! And who cares if people notice that you look different? They should! They should wonder why you look better than before. Some people will be able to tell, and most will just say that something looks a bit different and can’t put their finger on what it is, exactly. Anyway, you are always welcome to come back here for support! I’m still trying to muster up the courage to go get my corticosteroid shot for my nose, but I’m being a weenie. Ahh. And lucky you, moving to London! I would love to go there! I hope you are enjoying it there and wish you the best of luck at your job!
      -Aleen

  4. SnoutNose
    01/08/2012 at 8:40 pm

    Hi Aleen,
    Actually London was a work trip. I’m now back:-) My nose is getting better and better every day, just like you said! Actually I saw some family there and none of them noticed. Also saw my best friend and she also didn’t mention anything. So that is a good sign for me- I want to look better but keep it my secret that I went under the knife. If someone flat out asked me, I would be honest with them and tell them I had surgery.
    Nose tip is still bit too high – but I think with time it will balance out. It has not even been full 3 weeks yet. Patience is virtue.
    Thanks for all your support and will keep you posted on my progress.
    Hope all is well with you.
    SN

    • 01/09/2012 at 2:20 am

      Hello again SN!
      Welcome back home! See, I told you most people wouldn’t really notice. Most people aren’t very observant and don’t notice what is different but probably notice you do look a bit different. You don’t have to tell anyone that you went under the knife. It’s not anyone’s business if you don’t want it to be. More changes to come to your nose! Looking forward to hearing from you in the future. Happy healing! Cheers!

  5. SnoutNose
    01/24/2012 at 10:54 am

    Hi again Aleen,
    I was wondering if I could email you with some questions off the board?
    I know you may not want to put your email address on a public site. So I will give you mine – if you want to send me your email address there. It’s blue1berry@gmail.com.
    It’s now one month after my surgery and my nostrils are ridiculously uneven. PS says nothing he can do about it! Ugh – I need to see what you think! Hope to get an email from you. SN -or maybe now it’s CN (crooked nostrils);-(

  6. Adriana
    11/05/2014 at 10:01 pm

    Your nose looks so cute would love to know who your plastic surgeon was and from where?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

