Six Weeks After Cortisone Shot


I am at just about six weeks after my shot. I don’t see a whole lot of change, but others say they have seen some. I’m not really convinced anything changed. My cartilage still sticks out the same as before and I can still push it down. It just comes back up after a little bit of time. I am going back in about a week for another post op visit. My PS said she might give me another cortisone shot, so lets see how it goes. I’ll do best my update and not procrastinate so much! I am just so overwhelmed with school and also lost both of my grandmothers since my last post 😦 so my life has been uneventful and crazy lately. Here are some pictures taken over the last month. Do you guys think my nose looks any different than my last post?

A view from below.

Side-ish

More side profile.

Other side.

Probably my favorite angle of my nose.

Front-on taken on March 3, 2012.

Left is more concave!

This is how my nose looks when I'm not trying to take a picture of my nose. And yes, that is Steven Tyler. ❤

And here are two taken fro the right angle just because I think all of my other pictures are from the left.

And I have created a habit of taking pictures of my left side since it is my new favorite side (my right was my better side before surgery) so I think these are the only two pictures I've taken of my right side so I wanted to post these, too.

  1. Vieve
    03/27/2012 at 12:30 pm

    Your nose looks great! I really think it’s just one of those tiny little things that you notice, that the average person doesn’t! Don’t take your nose for granted, the results have been tremendously amazing and safe to say, I am totally 100% jealous. Having my septorhinoplasty in August, I can only pray my nose will look as good as yours does!! Don’t fret ! 🙂

    • 04/23/2012 at 1:43 am

      Vieve,
      Thank you. I think I really needed to hear that. I am overall rather happy with the results, but still wishing that it had been curvier and less straight. I am very happy though compared to what it used to be. Good luck with your future surgery! I am sure you will have as good of results as I had. 🙂

  2. Er
    06/15/2012 at 3:53 am

    Hi Aleen,
    I’m not sure if you’re still checking this blog/comments but I wanted to ask you a question about your surgery. I had an open rhinoplasty done 16 days ago, and I still can’t smile normally. My upper lip won’t lift and none of my top teeth show, and it looks kind of strange when I try to smile. I’m guessing this is because he cut inbetween/ underneath my nostrils and probably some of that muscle. My PS said it takes some time to heal I’m just a little freaked and will ask him more specifically about it on my next post op visit this coming week. I was just wondering if you had an open or closed rhino and if you experienced the same problem?

    -Er

    • 07/05/2012 at 5:50 pm

      Hi Er! I had a closed rhinoplasty, but my smile was kind of funky for about a month or so, too. It’s totally normal to have a stiff upper lip so don’t worry too much! How’s your recovery going? I’m sorry it’s taken so long for me to respond!

  3. lmendoza
    06/28/2012 at 5:01 am

    I just want to say thank you for having such a detailed & informative blog! It’s exactly one month post op for me today since my septorhino … I have mixed feelings about it, I think it’s still very swollen (at least I hope it is because it would suck if my nose stayed this way). Anyhow, I look at your progress & it gives me hope, your nose has turned out so cute! I would say that my nose resembles yours at your 1 month mark ,also… but I have a feeling it won’t look as good as yours… I noticed that in one of your posts you said that you had a small bump, I have one just like it too! :/ When did you notice it was no longer there?
    Don’t be a stranger & keep us posted on your progress, because I’m sure I am not the only one who is appreciative of it! I was so depressed about my nose, & then I came across your blog- thank you! 😀

    • 07/05/2012 at 6:00 pm

      Hello Imendoza!
      I’m sorry you’re so swollen! I know how much it sucks. I hated it and it made me feel like a monster, at times. But one month in is very early! You have such a long way to recovery and your nose will keep changing so much. I am sure your nose will look even better than mine when you pass your one year mark. I still have a tiny hump on my nose, unfortunately. I had faith that it would go down with swelling, but it seems to be stubborn is still there, but it isn’t very obvious. Just slight. It still bothers me, but overall I love my nose. I will try to update my blog this week with recent photos! Thank you so much for reading my blog! I’m so happy I could help people and guide them through their own journeys. Check back soon! Happy recoveries!

  4. Er
    07/09/2012 at 12:38 pm

    No problem Aleen thanks for responding! My smile is definitely a lot better. This wednesday will be 6 weeks and I also have mixed feeling about it. Some days I’m good and don’t think so much about it and others I harp on the little things that are bothering me like my nostrils because my left is small and a tad lower than my right, and the tops are slightly “v” ish and it is bothering me that I can see them now from the front when I couldn’t before. Not a lot but evident to me. I also don’t really like the way it photographs in most pics so i’ve been really bummed about that too, but I guess I just have to give it more time. Hope it’ll help but im not sure. it also doesn’t help that I just went away and it was super hot and I spent a lot of time in the heat which made me swell even more so I was making a little progress and them it blew up a bit. But I’d love to see your updated pics!

  5. Nat
    07/18/2012 at 8:46 am

    Hi, do you have an email address I could send some pictures to you by? i’m quite worried my swelling isn’t normal and won’t go 😦 I’m also a bit worried that it still looks long. I measured mine after surgery (I’m 8 weeks post-op) and it’s 3cm long. After googling the ‘average’ length i found it is 2.2cm ?! Pls let me know.
    Ps. Your looks great!
    Nat xx

    • Lea
      02/05/2013 at 2:37 pm

      Hi Nat, I am having a similiar problem..wanted to see if your nose has gone done since your post. My nose is WAY too swollen and the lower 1/3 part of the nose looks like extra cartilage was added but nothing was touched there (from what I know). I just got a steroid injection today (3 weeks since my septo and rhinoplasty). Please update us, for my sanity and others I’m sure 🙂 thanks!

      • Nat
        02/05/2013 at 11:20 pm

        Hi Lea,

        Yes, my nose is still quite swollen. I only had nasal tip surgery so it’s the end of my nose which looks really hard and heavy. I am 8 months post-op, but I think my swelling is quite severe as my skin is thick. My sister who also had the same op on the same day as me, is also swollen but it is not as noticable as mine. I think your swelling progression depends on your skin type. Aleen can give you my email address if you want to email me directly, i can show you pics. X

      • 02/05/2013 at 11:25 pm

        Lea,
        I am unsure of whether you were asking me (the blogger) or Nat to respond so I contacted her to respond to you. My tip wasn’t very swollen at any point so I assumed it was for Nat.

  6. Nicole
    04/21/2014 at 7:51 am

    Amazing Blog! This has helped me so much pre-op and now post-op. You look ridiculously good and I’m glad that everything worked out so well for you and that you love your nose now. When did the swelling/bum on the right side of your nose finally go down? Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

