Home > Rhinoplasty, Rhinoplasty recovery, Septoplasty > Some Before and Afters

Some Before and Afters


I hope that this is helpful to those of you who are swollen and are wondering how much can go down. It depends on how your doctor shaped your nose and how swollen you have gotten after surgery.

This particular one makes me so happy that that I had my rhinoplasty done!

The left one is maybe one month into recovery and the one on the right is one year after recovery.

  1. Nat
    07/18/2012 at 11:30 am

    Hey Aleen, your nose looks amazing! I’m 8 wks post op and although the swelling has improved.. I don’t think it’s decreased in the past 3 weeks but I can’t tell if I’m becoming do used to it looking this way! I had a nasal tip reduction as it was extremely bulbous but I’m getting quite unhappy with my results. How long is your nose? Mine is now 3cm but I read it should be approx 2cm. It would be great if I could send you some pics of mine before and after to get your opinion, I’ve avoided my close friends for long enough! Xx

  2. Reyna
    07/28/2012 at 12:00 pm

    I know that this is soo long ago, your surgery. But I just got my Rhinoplasty surgery done and I feel kind of depressed. I feel like my nose is piggy like and upturned! Did you feel the same way. Your nose looks absolutely beautiful.
    Did the tip go down for you some after the swelling? Thank You.

    • 08/16/2012 at 12:04 am

      Hi Reyna,
      My results were very different than anyone else I know in terms of an upturn. The doctor upturned my nose during surgery and I had a bit of a droop before when I smiled, but I was very swollen for a long time so my tip looked the same. But as swelling went away, my tip started to appear upturned as she had done. However if your surgeon did NOT turn up your nose, I am sure you are just swelling in a way where your nose looks “piggy”. If it doesn’t seem to get better, I would call my plastic surgeon and tell them you don’t like the tip and find out exactly what they had done to it.

  3. nati
    08/05/2012 at 6:43 am

    Wow great!! How much new nose changed you….. I also had rhinoplasty done 24 days ago..but I feel so unhappy because of my nostrils,one nostril is higher than the other and this so noticeable… I didn’t have uneven nostrils before surgery….can it be caused by swelling or something else…:(

    • 08/16/2012 at 12:01 am

      Hi Nati! Don’t worry! My nostrils appeared quite uneven for a couple of months from uneven swelling. I am sure the swelling will go back down and your nostrils will look more even again.

  4. scarredgirl
    09/02/2012 at 8:41 am

    Hey Aleen! you look great!:) I just had mine done on friday! I’m so scarred I have tape on it still and it looks a bit upturned like i look straight on you can see my nostrils .. I called the docs office earlier today and they said it was normal. But I would like a second opinion from someone who has already gone through it. Do you think I could send you pictures and you can tell me what you think? Thanks for posting this blog about your journey. I

  5. Jules
    05/12/2013 at 3:50 pm

    Wow! Your nose looks great! Your surgeon did a magnificent job. I had mine done a year ago and then went back in to remove more of my hump that wasn’t shaved. However it doesn’t look much diff to me. Did your hump appear small and then disappear after a while?

    • 05/29/2013 at 8:46 pm

      Hi Jules,
      Yes, kind of. See I had an aquiline (hook) nose so my skin had been stretched for a long time. When it was shaved down, my skin had not retracted so there appeared to be a bump. When it did retract, my nose was not as curved in as much as I had wanted so I still felt like there was a “bump”. Personally I don’t mind a small looking hump much as it makes to nose appear to be natural, but I feel like my bridge is too high so I can relate. Although my “hump” that I have now does seem smaller to me than it did say 1 1/2 years ago. Give it time. I would say at least one full year. If you are still bothered by it, consult with your ps again. Good luck!

  6. 07/01/2013 at 9:07 am

    Wow! You look great! Thank you for sharing these before and after photos!

  7. Tess
    07/09/2015 at 12:55 am

    I know that this blog is from years ago but I’m so happy I found it! I have almost exactly the same nose as you had and I’m suffering from the profile as long as I remember. I’m 24 now and finaly had the balls to go for it, I’m having my hump removed the 17th 🙂

    • 10/14/2015 at 12:02 am

      Hi Tess! Congratulations on taking the plunge! I hope you are loving your new nose and have had an easy journey both emotionally and physically through recovery. 🙂

  8. Nicole Hilo
    04/14/2016 at 4:25 pm

    Who was your surgeon?

  9. 09/15/2016 at 8:28 pm

    hey aleen! your end results look amazing. i decided to follow your journey because i believe we share some similarities in our noses and overall facial structures. I am currently 7 days post op, just had my cast removed and wasn’t to happy about my profile view. i wanted the bridge reduced and have that “dip” in it but it looks like it was barely reduced and definitely no dip, just looks straight from the profile. I noticed when you got your cast removed your nose looks straight and from some angles it would look like it had that slight dip. as i continued to look at your pictures from 1 year post op, your final results definitely have that slight dip i am looking for in my nose! im wondering if this dip in the bridge from the profile view happened over time maybe after the swelling started going down or was it like that from the start of your cast removal? its hard to tell in some of your early stages but more evident towards your end result. I am scared that my nose is going to keep this high bridge and not get lower or dip how i want it too. i touch my nose and i can pretty much feel the bone over the swelling 😦

    • 07/26/2017 at 5:48 am

      Hi there. Sending apologies on a very late response! My dip happened many months post op. My bridge was very straight before due to swelling. The tip of my nose also turned slightly upward and created that slightly sloped look. I hope hour nose turned out the way you were hoping for it to turn.

  10. Ness
    09/27/2016 at 8:44 am

    Hi, I was making research about recovery after a nose job and I found your blog. It’s very kind to share your experience. I thought to do the same thing but really I don’t like my nose, I did my nose job 3 weeks ago and now I’m thinking if it was the best decision 😦 .. I know it’s early to say that, I have to wait and have the final result but it’s so long and I’m very not patient for waiting … Your nose looks very good, it’s changing you and you seems more beautiful.. About my nose, my nose seems shorter and very large (because of swelling I think) and the tips of my nose is a little bit high. I hope it will be changing with time…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

