Home > Uncategorized > 2 Year Post Op Update

2 Year Post Op Update


Well I am nearly at two years post op now, it’ll be two years in April. Time flies! 

I still have sensitivity along the right side of my bridge where there is spacing. The tip of my nose is still stiff, but not as stiff as it used to be. I can burry my face into my pillow again, I just have to be more careful than before. It swells a tad bit when I have a cold and it swells under the sun/heat. It looks its best on cold days and the tip turns up more when it is cold.

Last week I saw my surgeon as she had told me that I can come back and see her any time if the little hump bothers me. I decided waiting until nearly two years was good because I thought it would be enough time to let it heal and see if it resolves on its own. And since it hadn’t and was still bothering me, mostly because I am obsessive, I went to see her. She said that I could have a revision and she could take a couple of millimeters off and make it the way I want and it would be no problem. I mentioned to her that I was so swollen during recovery and I was slightly worried about the emotional roller coaster part of it, and she said it wouldn’t be nearly as invasive or bad as the initial rhinoplasty. I asked about the sensitivity and she said she would be able to take care of that, too. I think I’m actually more worried about the sensitivity than the aesthetics of a revision. Which is funny since the aesthetics is what bothers me more. My visit with her was very pleasant and I truly think that she’s among the best of her profession. 

To clarify to anyone, though who may confuse how I feel, my nose after rhinoplasty is quite amazing and way much better than what I was given by God. I am actually very happy with it, but if you’ve read my blog at all, you’ll notice that I have personally felt like the bridge was a tad bit too high and that I felt like there was a slight hump. At the time of my consultation, I did want a curved nose, but I was afraid that the change would be so great and that I would maybe regret having a sloped nose or that I might not look good with it. I do wish that I would have gone a tad bit more sloped, but luckily it’s not too late to have it. I do feel badly about taking up my doctors time, though when maybe I could have avoided doing so. Either way, I am pretty happy that my surgeon is so wonderful both as an artist and as a person. I am not planning on a revision for maybe another year or so, but if and when it happens, I will share it with you all here. 

Also, I am planning on making a FAQ page/post with the questions I am asked the most frequently so that I can help people with the answers right away and so that they will be easily accessed as opposed to having to look through comments on different posts.

By the way…

In my stats, it shows that I’ve had almost 28,000 hits since I started my blog in April 2011 and I am absolutely blown away by that number. When I created this blog, I thought fewer people would look at it, but I am floored that so many of you guys have read my blog/looked at my pictures. I just wanted to say thank you to everyone for visiting my page and being a part of my journey. I am glad that I can help other people and answer your questions. Thank you all!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. JessieJ
    02/11/2013 at 3:24 am

    Hello,

    I just want to say a huge thank you for sharing your experience and being so open. I am 4 weeks post op, and have often been up in the wee hours, madly googling ‘swelling’, ‘pig nose’, ‘revision’ etc. It’s been a scary experience! But your blog has calmed me down and given me hope. I’m starting to get excited about my new face.
    You look absolutely stunning. Your nose is perfect. Thanks for the reassurance and frankness. There are sooooo many things no-one tells you!
    All the very best
    J x

    • 02/12/2013 at 12:32 am

      Hi JessieJ,
      Wow thank you so much! Comments like hours are why I wanted to write a blog. You are so early in your recovery and still have a long, long way to go until you see your final result. I know just how hard it is going through the ups and downs of recovery. Try to stay positive, though. I am sure you will see lots of changes in the future! Congrats on your new nose and I hope you keep on loving your results. 🙂
      Aleen

    • 02/12/2013 at 12:33 am

      Yours*

    • Rhino regrets
      04/15/2014 at 12:09 pm

      Hi Aleen,

      Thanks so much for writing this blog. I am Armenian as well and just had a rhinoplasty done less than three weeks ago. Ever since, I’ve been incredibly depressed. I had a droopy tip and large hump before. Now My nose tip looks crooked and very swollen, upturned, my nostrils are totally uneven.

      I’m trying my best to be patient but it’s so hard. I have an appt coming up with my PS on Monday and I plan on telling him how much I hate it. I’m not sure what else I can do but wait. Did you experience any of the same? You look great in all your pics, even the ones that are very soon after you got your cast removed. I look like a freak.

      I hope to hear from you.

      • 04/15/2014 at 9:59 pm

        Hi there,
        I’m so sorry to hear how badly you’re feeling right now. No one tells us what an emotional roller coaster getting plastic surgery is going to be. You need to be honest with you surgeon and tell him about your concerns, but I don’t recommend attacking him. Not that I think you will, it’s just very easy to be mad at your surgeon. Since you’re still so early in recovery, it will be hard to tell what your result will actually be. I was so swollen at 3 weeks and my face looked so different than how I look today. My nostrils were so uneven and my bridge also looked uneven for months, so there is a chance that yours will look more symmetrical in time.

        I know it is hard to be patient, but you really have to be. If you are still unhappy in 6-9 months, I would maybe think about a possible revision. But until then, talk to your surgeon first and tell him about your concerns. Good luck!

  2. Maria
    03/08/2013 at 4:25 pm

    Thank You for your blog! I’m finally, after 14 years, getting my septorhinoplasty! Your pre-revision nose is very similar to mine, and I LOVE your ‘new’ nose!! I have a question for you:
    – Did your surgeon break your nose to straighten it, or did she just shave down the protrusion to create a straighter appearance?

    • 03/08/2013 at 4:30 pm

      Hi Maria,
      Thank you for coming to my blog! My surgeon had to break my nose in order to straighten out the septum/bridge. I’ve read that just shaving it can leave the nose looking very boxy and nose job-y looking. Are you having yours broken? I wouldn’t worry about it. Your nose will be sore regardless but it won’t cause any pain to your face since there aren’t any major veins or arteries in the nose. And congrats on your decision!

  3. Kay
    03/12/2013 at 2:40 am

    You look real good. i don’t even think you need a revision. There is a very soft vibrancy to you, I really like the way you are..

    Who was your surgeon?

  4. Frances
    04/23/2013 at 10:02 am

    Excellent blog. This was the best blog I’ve seen. I had my surgery done 10 days ago. I am glad I found your blog so that I can know what to expect in the next few months to come. I am definitely in that “avatar” stage. Your outcome turned out great!! Congrats!! Thanks again

    • 05/29/2013 at 8:40 pm

      Hi Frances!
      Oh that dreaded avatar phase. I was so miserable during that period of time, but it WILL go away! I am sure you’ve past it by now since I have taken so long to reply. I am so sorry I didn’t get to your comment earlier. Thank you for visiting my blog! I am glad to help in any way that I can. Congrats to you!

  5. 07/01/2013 at 9:06 am

    It’s wonderful that you are sharing your recovery process with the world to help them get through their doubts about a rhinoplasty. Great blog.

    • 07/01/2013 at 3:34 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and checking out my blog! I appreciate it. 🙂

  6. josh
    08/15/2013 at 10:59 am

    hi, just wondering if the width of your bridge went down over time? i’m 4 months post op and the insides of my nostrils are still swollen (unevenly, too) making the bridge wide and its kinda ugly 😦

    • 09/03/2013 at 6:50 pm

      Hi Josh,
      My bridge took several months to thin out, so give it a couple of more months. Everyone heals differently so it could take up to one whole year. If you don’t start to see a change for the better in a few months, I would talk to your PS, or find a better one for a second opinion. Good luck!

  7. 09/20/2013 at 4:05 am

    Cool! your nose looks very good after surgery and this is giving a new look to your face. Thanks for sharing your story, it ‘ll give inspiration to them, those are feeling dissatisfaction for their nose.

    http://www.rhinoplastymaster.com

  8. nene
    01/13/2014 at 11:40 am

    i’m really happy you try to keep us updated. just had rhinoplasty months ago and my tip is soo swollen. i hope it gets better by 2 years.

  9. Rhino regrets
    05/11/2014 at 12:20 pm

    Hey Aleen,

    Thank you so much for getting back to me. I’m incredibly stressed out with planning my wedding and having my nose not look the way I hoped it would.

    I just passed my 6 week post op. My PS said my nostril asymmetry is really subtle, but to me it’s not. He also said I might need to inject a filler into the left side of my nose cause I guess there’s some sort of indent? I’m just so upset most days, I can’t even think straight. I look horrible in pictures and I’ve been in hiding from friends and some family because I’m not confident enough to defend what I did.

    Do you think you can email me sometime? Maybe I can send you pics to see what you think. Mine is sw84242@gmail.com

    Thanks and I hope to hear from you.

  10. Tessa
    02/05/2016 at 7:31 am

    I know this blog is years old but I justed wanted to let you know that thanks to you I got the courage to get the hump on my nose fixed! I also had to go back for a revision of a small hump but thats the risk of a closed rhinoplasty. I’m wondering if you ever went back?

    • 07/26/2017 at 5:44 am

      Hi Tessa! So sorry I’ve taken over a year to respond as I made this blog so many years back and haven’t been active on it. I actually decided not to get a revision and am mostly happy with my nose. I do feel that my bridge could have been a little lower. The bump no longer bothers me and I think it actually makes my nose look a bit more natural. I’ll try to at some point make a vlog update 6 years post op!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

